The Chevrolet Warriors are hoping that fast bowler Rusty Theron will return to fitness in time to lead their attack in the RAM SLAM T20 season opener against the Chevrolet Knights at Bidvest Wanderers on Sunday morning.

Theron is yet to turn out for the Warriors this season due to a knee problem, and his absence has been felt – the Warriors are the only side who have not bowled an opponent out in the Momentum One-Day Cup thus far.

Theron’s return would, therefore, be a welcome one, especially if the Warriors bowl first seeing as seam movement is likely to be on offer when Sunday’s televised triple-header gets underway at 10am.

The other key absence for the Warriors this term has been Davey Jacobs, but the arrival of England wicketkeeper-batsman Craig Kieswetter will fill that hole.

“He’s got a proven track record in Twenty20 around the world and he offers a great keeping option for us now that Davey Jacobs is out,” Warriors coach Piet Botha said.

“He’ll also contribute experience to our team and be able to help the young guys.”

The Knights will be without Quinton Friend and Corne Dry for the fixture, but coach Sarel Cilliers expects overseas signing Andre Russell to help make up for those absences.

“He bowls a heavy ball and he strikes it well towards the back end of the innings, so that’s exactly where we’ll try and use him,” Cilliers said of the West Indian.


“We’ll give him the ball at the front and at the end, and allow him to hit the ball as he sees fit.”

HEAD TO HEAD – Chevrolet Knights vs. Chevrolet Warriors

Matches Played                20

Knights Win                      09

Warriors Win                     09

Tie                                     01

No Result                          01



Highest Score

175/7 (Port Elizabeth 2005/2006)

152/9 (Kimberley 2010/2011)
Lowest Score

97/6 (Port Elizabeth 2008/2009)

65 (Port Elizabeth 2005/2006)
Highest Individual Score 73* Ryan Bailey (East London 2009/2010)

66* Christiaan Jonker (Kimberley 2012/2013)

Best bowling in a match 5/12 CJ de Villiers (Port Elizabeth 2008/2009)

5/26 Arno Jacobs (Bloemfontein 2006/2007)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.