Affies down Candies



The game was much closer than the score line of 34-26 indicates and Affies was pushed right up to the end in this very entertaining Premier Interschools match.

Pretoria Boys High were held up twice over the goal line during the match, with the last time being right at the end of the match. Pretoria Boys High were penalised early on and Affies kicked out for a five-metre line-out from which they mauled and scored a try by flank, Gavin Foster .

Then it was Pretoria Boys High’s turn to attack. From a penalty scrumhalf Tristan Eve tapped and darted. From a ruck he darted again as Pretoria Boys High rumbled to the line and 8th man Mitchell Baumann scored. Dylan Neser converted and Pretoria Boys High led 7-5 after 12 minutes.


Ryno Lourens sprinted down the left and then Affies moved right where the Pretoria Boys High defence was thin. Flank Rohan Roelofse, in an outside centre position, accelerated through an inviting gape and scored. 10-7 to Affies after 15 minutes. Pretoria Boys High attacked and went wide left but lost the ball. They attacked again and again lost the ball. This time, when they lost it near the Affies line big Tiaan Schmulian got the ball and raced down the right-hand side. He chipped and was tackled late. Affies kicked the ball out for a five-metre line-out, mauled and again Gavin Foster scored. 17-7 after 25 minutes.


Sipho Phiri then scored a great individual try on the left wing. He picked up from a ruck close to the line and Affies seemed to have him well covered but he manoeuvred his body and forced his way over for the try. 17-12 after 28 minutes.  Affies then had a long period on attack bashing at the Pretoria Boys High line. They had two five-metre line-outs but the Candies defence held firm. Affies then kicked at goal but missed.


The half-time score 17-12.


Pretoria Boys High lost a man to the sin bin and Affies had another attacking line-out but this time lost it. They attacked from a line-out and then tapped a penalty and bashed and eventually hooker DP du Plessis drove over for a try. 24-12.


Affies went back on the attack and from a scrum on the right Dale Hendricks dummied and broke and gave to fullback Eduan Keyter who scored, to make it 31-12 and Affies seemed to be cruising. Carlo de Nysschen had a good run down the left but then Pretoria Boys High attacked getting closer with pick-‘n-drive till they went wide and on an overlap replacement Armand Maré scored in the corner. Dylan Neser converted from touch. 31-19 after 55 minutes.


From a scrum in the Affies 22 Eduan Keyter raced on a powerful run that ended near the Pretoria Boys High 22. Pretoria Boys High were penalised and Eddie Fouché goaled. 34-19 with 10 minutes to play. Those last 10 minutes belonged to Pretoria Boys High. They won a tighthead at a scrum and attacked. Affies were penalised and Pretoria Boys High tapped and attacked till Mitchell Baumann forced his way through three defenders to score. 34-26 with 7 minutes left.


Affies were penalised some 40 metres out and Dylan Neser forced a five-metre line-out. Pretoria Boys High mauled and Mitchell Baumann was held up. From a five-metre scrum Armand Maré was also over the line, but he too was held up – and the referee blew the final whistle.




For Affies:

Tries: Gavin Foster 2, Rohan Roelofse, DP du Plessis, Eduan Keyter

Cons: Eddie Fouché 3

Pen: Eddie Fouché


For Pretoria Boys High:

Tries: Mitchell Baumann (2), Sipho Piri, Armand Maré,

Cons: Dylan Neser 3




Affies: 15 Eduan Keyter, 14 Tiaan Schmulian, 13 Ryno Lourens, 12 Eddie Fouché, 11 Carlo de Nysschen, 10 Dale Hendricks, 9 Divan Henning, 8 Eduan Lubbe, 7 Rohan Roelofse (captain), 6 Gavin Foster, 5 Human Bodenstein, 4 Juan Basson, 3 Reynard Goosen, 2 Remon Viviers, 1 DP du Plessis

Replacements: 16 Jano Espag, 17 Strauss Koekemoer, 18 Dylan du Preez, 19 Grobler, 20 Barnard, 21 Pieter Coetzer, 22 Janco Booysen, 23 Bezuidenhout


Pretoria Boys High: 15 Wayne Parker, 14 Jean Volschenk, 13 Jordan Williams, 12 Rossouw Basson, 11 Sipho Phiri, 10 Dylan Neser, 9 Tristan Eve, 8 Mitchell Baumann, 7 Frikkie de Bruin, 6 Reenen Buys-Du Plessis, 5 Geor Schulze, 4 Ryan Carlson, 3

Mashoa Mukhari, 2 Viaan Janse van Rensburg, 1 Jake Blew (captain)

Replacements: 16 Tooley, 17 Aiden Malan, 18 Schumann, 19 Gideon van den Berg, 20 Dean Waghorn, 21 Armand Maré, 22 Joshua Chesno


Referee: Pieter Maritz (Blue Bulls Referees’ Society)



For all results, fixtures, videos, photos and information please visit

All stats provided by Nelio De Sa from

Follow Premier Interschools on:


TWITTER: @PremierSchools


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.