The Mr Price Sport BlogOlympics – a massively successful inaugural event

Mr Price Sport celebrated a successful day on Wednesday 13th November at the inaugural Mr Price Sport BlogOlympics, held at Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium. The event saw 24 of South Africa’s most popular sport and lifestyle bloggers competing in a series of fun events, using Mr Price Sport’s ProMaster range of recreational games.

The winning team was Team Cape Town (#TeamCPT), with Team Johannesburg (#TeamJozi) in second place and Team Durban (#TeamDBN) in third. Team Cape Town’s Tyrone Woods, representing the blog, took the first place individual honours, with second place going to Team Cape Town’s Andrew Berry of the blog and third place going to Team Jozi’s Uno de Waal of the blog. The award for Most Enthusiastic went to Team Jozi’s Nonhle Ndala, (, the Biggest Male Tosser award went to Team Jozi member Uno de Waal ( and Team Jozi’s Kate Nokwe (, claimed the Biggest Female Tosser award.

Nikki Viljoen, Marketing Executive at Mr Price Sport, says, “Mr Price Sport is delighted with the results of our inaugural BlogOlympics! It was a thoroughly enjoyable day and it was great to meet the bloggers who write about South Africa’s sporting events and heroes. We were very excited to see that the BlogOlympics (#BlogO13) was trending on Twitter before the games had even begun yesterday.”

Thanks to the incredible support received from the BlogOlympics sponsors, the prizes awarded to winners in each category were very generous; Tyrone Woods won an 16GB Apple iPad 4, a Moses Mabhida Attractions Package & a R1000 Mr Price Sport voucher; Andrew Berry won a Samsung S4 smart phone and Uno de Waal won a R2500 Mr Price Sport Voucher. The Cape Town Team members each won a R1000 Mr Price Sport voucher and NonhleNdala received 4 tickets to the Liverpool Legends Vs. Kaiser Chiefs Legends soccer game on Saturday 16 November, sponsored by Moses Mabhida Stadium. Kate Nokwe and Uno de Waal both won a set of Wilson golf sets for their tossing abilities in the Tenniquot and Frisbee events.

Moses Mabhida Stadium, Tsogo Sun, East Coast Radio, VW Hoopers , 32Gi, Australian Gold Sun Care, Durban’s Spiga d’Oro restaurant and Uber all played massive roles in providing services and products for the BlogOlympics event.
Viljoen concludes, “With Moses Mabhida Stadium’s magnificent arch forming the backdrop for the day’s events and Durban delivering a beautiful hot day, the vibe at the Mr Price Sport BlogOlympics was fantastic. East Coast Radio’s Jane Linley-Thomas’s live broadcast added to the hype and fun at People’s Park for the afternoon session. A great day like yesterday affirmed what we at Mr Price Sport all believe that sport and exercise are so important for the mind and the body, but that an element of fun should always be present. We look forward to planning the 2014 BlogOlympics and keeping the games going!”

The BlogOlympian Competitors

Representing Durban
Matthew Savides: The Sunday Times
Amith Gosai:
Sandile Nene:
Nadia van der Mescht:
Chia Kougianos:
Dimi Ingle:
Fathima Kathadra:
Kevin Robarts:
Abi Ray:

Representing Cape Town
Sibongile Mafu:
Andrew Berry:
Dylan Moore:
Tyrone Woods:
Emma Jackson:
Matthew Nepgen:
Kathryn Rossiter:
Ryan Wallace:

Representing Johannesburg
Jacques Henning:
Lyton Sibanda:
Tanya Kovarsky: /
Kirsty Bisset:
Kate Nokwe:
Uno de Waal:
Nonhle Ndala: Mr Price Sport Ambassador
Wade Paton: SA Hockey player & Mr Price Sport Ambassador

About Mr Price Sport
Mr Price Sport was established in 2006, stocking a range that comprises of sporting & outdoor apparel, footwear,
equipment and accessories. All major sport types, including seasonal and non-seasonal sports, are represented in
both international and Mr Price Sport’s own brands. The products have been rigorously tested and carry the
endorsement of some top South African sports personalities. For more information, visit

Mr Price Sport
Twitter: @MrPriceSport
# Tag: #MrPriceSport

# Tag: #BlogO13
Moses Mabhida Stadium
Twitter: @MMStadium
# Tag: #MMStadium

Twitter: @ECR9495
# Tag: #ECR9495 or #ECR

Tsogo Sun
# Tag: #SunSquareDBN


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.