Paul Roos breaks their Paarl Drought.

For the first time since 2006 Paul Roos could again do the Jolla Bolla on the main field at Paarl Gymnasium.  


In a hard forward battle Paul Roos came out tops to win 16-10. The rain affected much of the play resulting in numerous handling errors and scrums. The Paul Roos scrum stood up well against their much vaunted opponents and won their first opportunity for points via a penalty at scrum time. Fortuin converted and Paul Roos went 3-0 up.


A sniping little grubber kick up field from scrumhalf Jantjies brought Paul Roos within metres of the Gim tryline. Paul Roos won the resulting turnover ball and centre Matt Gallow went over in the corner after a good offload from captain and No 8 Michael Meyer. Fortuin could not convert and score was 8-0 for Paul Roos.


2 Minutes into the second half Paul Roos struck again when Man of the Match Aidynn Cupido took an outside gap after a good pass from Fortuin. Cupido played the ball inside and flanker Dean van Tonder crashed over for his team’s second try.


Fortuin could not convert from the corner and at 13-0 up, Paul Roos looked strong. Paarl Gymnasium however came back and after working the ball up field they got a scrum in Paul Roos’s 25 meter area. From the scrum 8th man Luus broke away and fed Captain Zandré de Koker who sliced through the Paul Roos defence to score next to the uprights. Walter Smit converted and at 7-13 Gim was back in the game.


Paarl Gimnasium then launched a wave of attacks on the Paul Roos line, but the boys in maroon kept their tryline intact. A resulting penalty from offsides by Paul Roos gave Walter Smit the opportunity to narrow the margin 13-10.


The rain came down again and the two teams fought for ascendancy in the difficult conditions. A further penalty from Cupido but Paul Roos 16-10 ahead and that remained the score until the final whistle.



For Paul Roos:

Tries:Matt Gallow, Dean van Tonder

Penalties:Fortuin (1), Cupido (1)

For Paarl Gymnasium:

Tries: Zandré de Koker

Conv: Walter Smit

Penalties: Walter Smit (1)



Paarl Gim: 15. Paul Human, 14. Leaviel Gouws, 13. Taigh Schoor, 12. Willie Smal, 11. Grant Williams, 10. Walter Smit, 9. Zandré de Koker (captain), 8. HJ Luus, 7. Waldo Macdonald, 6. Dehan Visser, 5. Hennie Beukes, 4. Dieter Leicher, 3. Adriaan Geldenhuys, 2. Marco Mostert, 1. Gavin van den Berg

Replacements: 16. Willem Moolman, 17. Heinrich Hattingh, 18. O’ Neil Thiart, 19. MJ Hayes, 20. Gustav Marais/Johan Visser, 21. Keenan Abrahams, 22. George Lourens, 23. Charl du Toit

Coaches:    Christoff Lötter, Hendrik Weber


Paul Roos: 15. Aidynn Cupido, 14. Nico Leonard, 13. Matt Gallow, 12. Edrich Venter, 11. Edwill van der Merwe, 10. Reinhardt Foruin, 9. Herschel Jantjies, 8. Michael Meyer (C), 7. Dean van Tonder, 6. Jacques Oosthuizen, 5. Emile Cloete, 4. Louis Conradie, 3. Jerome Korf, 2. Jacques van Zyl, 1. Carl Prinsloo

Replacements: 16. Muammir Salie, 17. Robert Matthee, 18. Christiaan Hamman, 19. Joa Swart, 20. Mitchell Carstens, 21. Calvin Nell, 22. Joshua Vermeulen, 23. Paul Beresford 

Coaches: Hein Kriek, Dawie Snyman


For all results, fixtures, videos, photos and information please visit



TWITTER: @PremierSchools


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.