Dave’s Dream World XV: 1979-2013

Guest writer David van der Merwe shares with SA Sports Blog his rugby union dream team.


15. Serge Blanco
Born on 31 August 1958. Playing career 1974-1992. International career 1980-1991. 93 caps for France and scored 233 points. He scored a record 38 tries for France. In 1997 Serge Blanco was among the inaugural set of rugby players inducted into the International Rugby Hall of Fame. In 2011, he was also inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame.

14. David Campese
Born on 21 October 1962. Playing career 1982-1998. International career 1982-1996. Sevens career 1998. Played 101 times in the Australian jersey and scored 64 tries, second only to Daisuke Ohata of Japan who scored 65 tries. In 2007 Campese was honoured in the third set of inductees into the Australian Rugby Union Hall of Fame.

13. Danie Gerber
Born on 14 April 1958. International career 1980-1992. He played 28 test for the Springboks. It would have been more had south Africa not been isolated from international sport. He played 115 provincial games for Eastern Province, 40 for Western Province and 24 for Free State. He scored 82 points in his 28 tests. In 2007 he was induced into the International Rugby Hall of Fame. Named in both International Rugby Hall of Fame member’s Martin Johnson and Bill McLaren’s all time XV.

12. Phillipe Sella
Born 14 February 1962. Playing career 1982-1998. International career 1982-1995. He played 111 Tests for France and scored 125 points. He became a member of the International Rugby Hall of Fame in 1999,[1] and the IRB Hall of Fame in 2008.

11. Bryan Habana
Born on 12 June 1982. Playing career 2004-Current. International career 2004-current. He has 86 caps for the Springboks and scored 250 points (50 tries). He has 118 Super Rugby caps scoring 280 points (80 tries) and 43 Currie Cup caps (40 points 8 tries). International Rugby Board Player Of The Year: 2007. International Rugby Players’ Association’s Try of the Year: 2012

10. Hugo Porta
Born on 11 September 1951. Playing career 1966-1990. Internationla career 1971-1990. He represented Argentina 58 times and scored 590 points. He also captained them 34 times. Olimpia de Oro Award (for “sportsman of the year” in Argentina): 1985. Olimpia de Plata Award (for “rugby union player of the year” in Argentina): 1975, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982. Midi Olimpique Magazine: “Best rugby union player of the world” (1985). Roathmans Yearbook Magazine: “Best Fly-half of the 1980s” (1989). Member of the Rugby hall of fame of New Zealand. All-time top scorer of Argentina primera división: 301 points. All-time 2nd. scorer of Argentina national team: 590 points (1970-90). Enter to the Guinness World Records due to having scored seven penalties and a conversion in the same match (in 1982 versus the Springboks).

9.George Gregan
Born on 19 April 1973. Playing career 1994-2011. International career 1994-2007. Represented Australia in 139 tests and scored 99 points.

8.Zinzan Brooke
Born on 14 February 1965. Playing career 1986-2001. International career 1987-1997. He has 58 All Black caps scoring 89 points, this includes 3 drop goals.

7.Richie McCaw (c)
Born on 31 December 1980. Playing career 1999-current. International career 2001-current. Represented the All Blacks in 123 tests to date and scored 95 points. n December 2011, Prime Minister John Key revealed that he had asked McCaw about the possibility of a knighthood in the 2012 New Year Honours, but that McCaw had turned it down. No formal offer had been made after that.

6.Michael “Ice Man” Jones
Born on 8 April 1965. Playing career 1985-1999. International career 1986-1998. He represented Samoa in 1 test in 1986. From 1987-1998 he played in 55 tests for the All Blacks, scoring 56 points. In 1990 he received a New Zealand Medal for service to the Pacific Island community. He graduated from the University of Auckland with three degrees: B.A., M.A. and Bplan. In 2003 he was inducted into the International Rugby Hall of Fame. He has been given the Matai title (Samoan chiefly title) of La’auli.

5.Victor Matfield
Born on 11 May 1977. Playing career 1999-2011. International career 2001-2011. He played 110 tests for the Springboks and scored 35 points. Crowned IRB (International Rugby Board) player of the 2007 Rugby World Cup. Rated by almost everyone as the best lock of his time.

4.Martin Johnson
Born on 9 March 1970. Playing career 1989-2006. International career 1993-2003. He played 1 game for the New Zealand under 21 side in 1990. He represented England 84 times, scoring 10 points. He also represented the British & Irish Lions on three tours, captaining them on 2. The only player to do this. He has 8 B&I Lions caps. He was awarded the CBE in the 2004 New Year honours. On 24 October 2011, at the IRB Awards in Auckland, Johnson was inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame alongside all other Rugby World Cup-winning captains and head coaches from the tournament’s inception in 1987 through 2007 (minus the previously inducted John Eales).

3. Martin Castrogiovanni
Born on 21 October 1981. Playing career 2001-current. International career 2002-current. He has played 98 tests for Italy and scored 60 points. During the 2008 Six Nations Championship, Castrogiovanni was Italy’s top try scorer.

2.Keith Wood
Born on 27 January 1972. Playing career 1992-2003. International career 1994-2003. He represented the B&I Lions in 5 tests (2 tours) and Ireland in 58. He scored 75 points for Ireland. The inaugural winner of the IRB World Player of the Year award in 2001. In 2005 the Munster Rugby star was inducted into the Rugby Hall of fame. He currently holds a world record of 15 international test tries scored by a hooker, previously held by Sean Fitzpatrick (12) of the New Zealand All Blacks. He scored 4 tries in one game in the 1999 World Cup.

1.Os du Randt
Born on 8 September 1972. Playing career 1994-2007. International career 1994-2007. He played in 80 tests for the Springboks and scored 25 points. He is one of only 6 players to have won 2 World Cup titles (1995 and 2007). Named by Rugby World magazine as the second-best loosehead of all time in 1999.

This is the team I would pick if I had to. That there are at least 3 players in each position, if not more, that can be consider it true. That is what makes this such a nice topic. I would love to know how your team would look. That way we can compare, remember and honour players of years gone by.

Follow Dave on twitter: @djvanman
Check out Dave’s blog: davesviews.wordpress.com


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.